"It was as though I heard the Lord's voice."
Karl Ludvig Reichelt

How it all began

Founded in 1930 by a Norwegian missionary Karl Ludvig Reichelt, The history of the Tao Fong Shan Christian Centre derives from Reichelt. As of today, we continue fulfilling the same vision as we were 90 years ago.

left arrow
  • 1903-1905

    Born in Norway, Reverend Reichelt was determined to preach the Gospel in China since he was young. After he graduated from seminary in 1903, owing to his excellent academic record, he was sent to China by the Norwegian Missionary Society (NMS). In 1904, he was preaching to the local villagers in Ningxiang, Hunan, China. In the following year, nearby, he visited a Buddhist temple named Weishan monastery, where he had his first contact and exchange with the Buddhists. This pivotal experience led him to a life-long mission of understanding of Chinese religions and dialogue with Buddhists.

  • 1911-1913

    In 1911, Reverend Reichelt went back to his hometown after he had completed his missionary work in China. In 1913, he went back to China and became a professor of the New Testament at the Lutheran Theological Seminary in Shekou, Hubei. In addition to his constant study of Chinese religions, he noticed a large number of Chinese Buddhist and Taoist believers. He began to have the vision of preaching to Buddhists, establishing a Christian Centre that is similar to a Buddhist monastery, where he can host, have a dialogue with, and build friendships with Buddhist monks, learning the truth all the while. When he was there, he visited many temples and made a handful of friends with the Buddhist monks. Besides, he traveled to many Northern European countries to communicate his vision and lobby the Mission churches the support for his work.

  • 1922-1927

    In 1922, Reichelt and his assistant missionary Notto Normann Thelle (1901-1990) arrived in Shanghai, China, and subsequently transferred to Nanjing. They rented a house and served as a Christian-Buddhist "brother home", where they officially began working and practicing Reichelt's missionary vision. Thereafter, they bought a land in Feung Run Men, Nanjing to institute Ching Fong Shan, it was well-equipped with facilities such as dormitories, church, and schools. Ching Fong Shan hosted itinerant Buddhist monks from all over the country, they exchanged ideas and learned from one another. In only 4 years, Ching Fong Shan hosted 5000 Taoist monks, and 50 of whom were baptized. Unfortunately, in 1927, the National Revolutionary Army (NRA) captured Nanjing, which then set off dozens of xenophobic violence incidents, and Ching Fong Shan was destroyed in the war. Reverend Reichelt and Reverend Thelle fled to Shanghai to seek refuge, later they rented a house in the French Concession as their temporary venue of Christian Mission to Buddhists (CMB), now Areopagos.

  • 1929-1930

    By the end of 1929, Reverend Reichelt and his colleague Axel S. Hamre decided to move CMB to Hong Kong from Shanghai. They first settled in Tai Po, after a month of searching, they finally found an abandoned mountain in Sha Tin, which was quiet and beautiful, refreshing and restorative—it was especially suitable for a retreat. Moreover, there were many monasteries in the area, and straight down the mountain there was the Kowloon-Canton Railway that will take them to Mainland China, so they can continue to visit the Buddhists in China. In 1930, they decided to purchase the mountain from the government with $3780 Mexican silver dollar and named it Tao Fong Shan, which symbolizes that the Word of God and Holy Spirit will resemble the wind in the air, traveling around the world and sending off breezes from Tao Fong Shan to people in tough times.

  • 1930-1938

    Later, the pastor invited his friend, a Danish architect, Johannes Prip-Møller (1889-1943) to design Tao Fong Shan. Prip-Møller pictured the Centre having a Chinese-style ambience, so that the Chinese Buddhists or Taoists can feel at home when they visit. Prip-Møller tried to incorporate as much traditional Chinese Buddhist temple design into the architecture as he could, referencing their building design and decoration in an attempt to adapt to the Chinese culture. Because the mountain was desolate and difficult to access from the outside, they hired more than 100 workers to build the roads and trails. It was not until 1931 that the opening ceremony was held. By 1938, after years of construction, the basics of the Centre were completed including Pilgrim's Hall which was used to provide accomdation to the monks, Thelle House and Reichelt House as dormitories for missionaries, Christ Temple and Lotus Crypt for prayer and worship, religious studies building for teaching, and the Conference Hall as reception. Not only did Tao Fong Shan become a centre of Christian-Buddhist exchange, but it also became a place of retreat, a spiritual instructor incubator, and a scenic attraction to hikers and tourists.

  • 1946-1947

    In 1946, Reverend Reichelt had been 69 years old and decided to go back to Norway to retire. Thereafter, Stag Hannerz continued the mission at Tao Fong Shan while Reverend Thelle was appointed to be Reichelt's successor, this was also the period when they launched new ministries. One of which was the development of porcelain painting Christian art. The emergence of this particular ministry was primarily because of the mountain's successful baptism of the increasing number of monks. After they left their Buddhist monasteries, they were no longer supported by them and their livelihood was on the line. Pastor Wang Ching Ch'ing and Pastor Hong Shi De thought of a way to help them self-sustain and make a living: porcelain painting. In 1947, Pastor Wang was introduced to Mr. Xie Zhong Wu in Shantou, he then invited him to set up the ministry at Tao Fong Shan and to take on the role as the ministry's teacher. The two pastors even converted the bathroom into a painting studio, and thus the Centre's Art ministry began. The porcelain artworks produced in Tao Fong Shan adopted traditional Chinese strokes and patterns, yet the theme of the painting must be based on biblical stories in order to promote the Gospel.

  • 1951

    Reverend Reichelt was invited to teach at Lutheran Theological Seminary, Hong Kong; he returned to Tao Fong Shan.

  • 1952

    On March 13, 1952, due to cerebral hemorrhage, Reichelt rested in the prescence of Christ at the age of 75, and his remains were buried in the Tao Fong Shan Christian Cemetery.

right arrow

Spiritual practices at Tao Fong Shan

Tao Fong Shan consists of 10 places of worship, each not only has a unique meaning and story behind, but also a purpose. We worked with the pastors and spiritual directors to create a series of self-guided walks and meditations. We hope that you can practice a life of renewal and find your sense of purpose, thus deepening your faith and connection with God.

Our friends and partner

118518296_10159241240729925_7113404902913351505_n

Scandinavian mission partner, Areopagos

Areopagos is a Christian organization in Norway and Denmark, which dedicated to Christian spirituality, interfaith, and intercultural dialogue and religious practices work, advocating the unity of believers and sharing the love of Christ with people of different beliefs. Since the very inception, Areopagos has supported our work and has been an important mission partner to the Centre.

Tao Fong Shan Service Unit

Tao Fong Shan Service Unit

Tao Fong Shan Service Unit is in charge of building management and facilities rental for general public, believers, churches and its members for retreat and other spiritual purposes. It also provides support servics to the Tao Fong Shan Christian Centre (TFSCC) and the Institute of Sino-Christian Studies (ISCS).

sino-christian

Institute of Sino-Christian Studies

The Institute of Sino-Christian Studies (ISCS) promotes locationization of Christianity for Chinese culture, dialogue between Christianity and Chinese religions, and enrichment of Chinese culture through studies on Sino-Chirstian theology.

image-placeholder (4)

Lutheran Theological Seminary

Lutheran Theological Seminary owns a rich history of theological traditions. Formerly known as the reputable regional seminary for South-east Asia, the Seminary was founded in 1913 in Hubei, China, and served the Lutheran Church in China. Later, it moved to Hong Kong and subsequently became the theological education agency of the ELCHK.

Reverend Ole Skjerbæk Madsen

Endorsed by our mission partner Areopagos, Reverend Ole Skjerbæk Madsen is the founder of Christfulness, which invites people to have a deeper life in Christ. Ole spends his time partly in Hong Kong and leading his ministry at TFSCC, and partly in Denmark. Christfulness has its origin in the work of “In the Master’s Light” (IML), which is a bridge building ministry between Christians and spiritual seekers. Together with the staff at TFSCC, he explores ways to present Christian faith practice under Christfulness to the churches and the spiritual milieus of Hong Kong. Prior to Hong Kong, he graduated from University of Copenhagen with a Master’s degree in Divinity and has been a reverend since at Areopagos.

section-bg-3

Reverend Dr. Lau Man Leung, Philze

As a Chinese culture enthusiast, Rev. Philze graduated from Hong Kong Shue Yan University with a B.A. degree in Chinese language. He was called to advocate spirituality ministry and later founded the Life Gospel with the help of a few experienced pastors, which is committed to promote spiritual intimacy with God to believers. In 2000, Rev. Philze came to Tao Fong Shan Christian Centre to study for Dr. P.C. Tam, Ekman’s Graduate Diploma in Spiritual Formation and Spiritual Direction, followed by a master’s and doctorate in divinity from the Lutheran Theological Seminary.

section-bg-3

Reverend Dr. Chan Shing Tung, Johnathan

As the director of the Spirituality ministry at Tao Fong Shan Christian Centre, Rev. Johnathan graduated from McGill University in Canada with a B.S. degree, followed by a Master of Divinity from the China Graduate School of Theology, Hong Kong and graduate diploma in spiritual formation and spiritual direction from Tao Fong Shan Christian Centre through which he obtained a Doctor of Ministry degree in Spiritual Direction from the Graduate Theological Foundation (GTF).

Rev. Leung Kam Wah Robinson

Reverend Dr. Robinson Leung

After graduated from Northcote College of Education and University of Birmingham with a PGDE and degree in Philosophy of Education, and teaching at primary and secondary schools for many years, Rev. Robinson was called by God. He studied at China Graduate School of Theology, Haggai Institute, Tao Fong Shan Christian Centre, and Lutheran Theological Seminary for further study and received his MDiv (Counselling), a graduate diploma in Spiritual Formation and Spiritual Direction, and DMin with a concentration in Spiritual Direction. Prior to serving as a Spiritual Director at Tao Fong Shan Christian Centre, Rev. Robinson provides pastoral care at Tai Wai Church Kowloon Tong Alliance Church, Shatin Cumberland Presbyterian Church, and Church of Living Grace – Cheung Sha Wan for many years before he retired in 2007.

section-bg-3

Mr. Ye Wan Shou

Mr. Ye Wan Shou is a guest spiritual director of Tao Fong Shan Christian, he is also the founder of Innerspace Counseling Service, a fellow and clinical supervisor of the Hong Kong Professional Counselling Association Limited (HKPCA), MBTI Step I & II, Enneagram & NLP trainer, as well as Accelerated Experiential Dynamic Psychotherapy(AEDP I, II, and III) trainer.

section-bg-3

Reverend Chan Kwok Kuen, Patrick

Rev. Patrick is the director of The Tao in the world Limited and Lutheran Theological Seminary professor emeritus.

section-bg-3

Brother Ng Wei Lit, William

Brother William is a friar at Franciscans, he held a bachelor degree in Environmental Studies (urban planning) from University of Waterloo, Canada; master’s degrees in Landscape Architecture and Divinity and Arts in Religion from University of Edinburgh, Fu Jen Catholic University, and Yale Divinity School; an education diploma from Chinese University of Hong Kong. Since 1998, he has been working with different congregations, religious groups, and parishes to host art-based spiritual guidance, workshops, retreats, and more.

section-bg-3

Reverend Dr. Bill C. Noble

Rev. Bill C. Noble is a licensed psychoanalyst and the priest-in-charge at St. James’ Episcopal Church, New Jersey, USA. He is a spiritual director and psychoanalyst in private practice and specializes in PTSD and integration of religious and spirituality into psychotherapy.

section-bg-3

Sister Agnes Lee

Sr. Agnes is a spiritual director at the the Missionary Sisters of the Immaculate Conception of the Mother of God (S.M.I.C.) in Tainan, Taiwan. She spends many years practicing Chinese Christian Spirituality.

section-bg-3

Dr. Celia Kourie

The University of South Africa professor emeritus is also a guest professor at St. Augustine College of SA. She specializes in Eastern and Western Mysticism amd Carmelite mysticism.

section-bg-3

Sister Chen, Maria Stella

Sr. Agnes is a sister at the Missionary Sisters of the Immaculate Conception of the Mother of God (S.M.I.C.) in Taiwan. She practices Chinese Christian Spirituality for many years.

section-bg-3

Dr. Evelyn E. Whitehead and Dr. James D. Whitehead

Dr. Evelyn and Dr. James are pastoral care consultants. Their works include Shadows of the Heart, Holy Eros and so on.

A letter from our acting director

Read about our team’s commitment to continuing to help our friends and community experience God in Tao Fong Shan after 90 years of service.

Contact us

Phone: (852) 2694-4038
Fax: (852) 2694-4040
Email: contact@tfscc.org
Address: 33, Tao Fong Shan Road, Sha Tin, Hong Kong

 

Getting here

Coming by the MTR? You can simply take the public transport to Sha Tin station, next to the Sha Tin Rural Committee you will find a walking trail. It will take about 30 minutes if you choose to hike. Or, you can take the MTR to Tai Wai station, and then take a taxi to Tao Fong Shan Christian Centre.

    Choose a subject

十月期間道風山路由其與百樂徑交界處以北的路段將會在部份日子封閉,禁止所有車輛駛入

「我猶如聽見上帝的聲音。」
道風山創辦人艾香德

我們的源起

道風山基督教叢林由挪威傳教士艾香德 (Karl Ludvig Reichelt, 1877-1952) 牧師於1930年所創立,距今已有90年。本叢林的歷史與艾牧師的生平密不可分。

  • 1903-1905年

    艾香德牧師生於挪威,自小便立志來華宣教。1903年,神學院畢業後,因成績優異,獲差會派往中國宣教,1904年,他獲差派到湖南寧鄉向當地鄉民傳道。1905年,他到訪寧鄉附近的溈山上的佛寺參觀,並第一次與佛教徒接觸與交流。這次經歷促使他想加深對中國宗教的認識和與佛教徒接觸。

  • 1911-1913年

    1911年,艾牧師完成中國的傳道工作歸國。到了1913年,他再度來華,並於湖北灄口信義神學院教授新約。他除了積極研究中國宗教外,他察覺到中國有大量信仰佛教和道教的信徒,因此他開始萌起對中國異教徒做福音工作的異象,他希望建立一個類似佛教寺廟的基督教叢林,可以接待僧侶,跟他們對話交流,建立友誼和學習真理。他一面拜訪不少寺廟,結交不少佛教僧侶。另一方面,他又到北歐多國,向差會分享其對佛教徒的異象,並游說支持其工作。

  • 1922-1927年

    1922年,艾牧師與其助手田蓮德 (Notto Normann Thelle, 1901-1990) 到達上海,其後轉到南京,租了一房子作為「基督教佛家佈道招待所」,正式開始工作,實踐其心中異象。其後,他們又在豐潤門購地建立了「景風山」,那裡有宿舍、教堂和學校等配套,接待四方僧侶前來訪問、交流和學習。短短四年,景風山接待了各教道友5000人,有50人更決志受洗。可惜好景不常,1927年,國民黨北伐軍攻佔南京,城內爆發暴力排外事件。景風山在戰火中毀於一旦。艾牧師與田蓮德逃到上海避難,並在法租界租了一棟房子作為道友會臨時會址。

  • 1929-1930年

    1929年底,艾牧師與其同工韓慕德 (Axel S. Hamre) 決定把道友會從上海搬到香港。他們先在大埔落腳,經過一個月的尋找,他們找到沙田一處荒山,環境清幽,氣候清涼,頗適合作靜修之地。加上這裡四周寺院林立,山下又有九廣鐵路直通大陸,方便他們探訪本地和中國的佛教徒。1930年,他們決定用3780墨西哥銀元跟政府購入此山,並將這裡命名為「道風山」,取其意思把上帝的道,基督的靈像空中的風一樣,從道風山吹到世界各地,讓在苦熱中的人得到清鮮爽快的道風。

  • 1930-1938年

    及後,艾牧師邀請其朋友丹麥建築師艾術華 (Johannes Prip-Møller,1889-1943) 著手規劃道風山。艾牧師希望叢林能有一個中國化的氛圍,讓中國的佛、道教徒來到這環境不致陌生。所以艾術華在設計整個園地時,盡可能模仿中國的佛教寺院,建築物設計和裝飾參考傳統式樣,盡量貼近中國人的思想。由於山上十分荒蕪,無路可通,於是動用了超過100多名工人開山闢路。到了1931年,才正式舉行奠基典禮。經歷幾年的建設,到了1938年,叢林各樣的配套基本建成,包括接待僧侶的雲水堂,傳教士宿舍的蓮德樓、香德樓,崇拜和祈禱用的聖殿、蓮花洞,教學用的宗教研究院大樓和接待訪客的會議廳。道風山不只逐漸發展成為與佛道僧侶交流、對話的中心,也是給信徒退省靈修,培育宗教人材的園地,更是時人旅行、登高和遊覽的勝地。

  • 1946-1947年

    1946年,艾牧師已經69歲,由於感到自己年事已工,決定退休返回挪威。其後,由洪施德牧師 (Stig Hannerz) 接續其工作,並任命田蓮德牧師 (Notto Mormann Thelle) 為叢林新院長。這段時期的道風山,亦開展了新事工。其中一項就是發展中國基督教廣彩瓷藝術。這項事工的出現,主要是為山上成功受洗的出家人日漸增多,他們再沒有寺院的供養,生計便成了一大問題。王景慶牧師與洪施德牧師便想到:教導山上的學員學習繪瓷謀生。1947年,王牧師經人介紹於是在汕頭找到謝中吾先生到道風山開辦繪瓷部,並請他出任繪瓷教師,他跟洪牧師還把一間浴室房子改建成畫室,就這樣開始叢林的藝術事工。道風山出產的瓷器,設計採用中式,但畫的內容一定以聖經故事為題裁,藉此宣揚福音。

  • 1951年

    艾牧師獲信義神學院邀請,再次來港教學,並重回道風山。

  • 1952年

    1952年3月13日艾香德不幸因腦溢血主懷安息,享年75歲,遺體長眠於道風山基督教墳場。

道風山上屬靈操練

道風山由十個崇拜場所組成,每個地點不但具有獨特的象徵意義,而且各有不同的目的。我們與牧師和屬靈主任合作創建了一系列語音指南,希望你在靈修操練過程中,實踐生命的深化、更新,從而更加接近上帝。

道風境界

2 分 44 秒

Tao Fong Shan Christ Temple

聖殿

3 分 09 秒

Tao Fong Shan Labyrinth

明陣

3 分 15 秒

Tao Fong Shan Lotus Pond

蓮花池

1 分 43 秒

友好連繫和教會

118518296_10159241240729925_7113404902913351505_n

北歐差會亞略巴古 (Areopagos)

亞略巴古差會是位處挪威和丹麥的基督教機構,致力基督教靈修、跨宗教和文化對話與宗教實踐工作,推動信徒合一,與不同信仰的人分享基督大愛。道風山基督教叢林創立至今,差會一直支持叢林的工作,是我們重要的合作伙伴。

Tao Fong Shan Service Unit

道風山服務處

負責道風山的建築物管理、出租設施供各界人士、信徒、社團及教會用作退修或靈修用途,以及向道風山基督教叢林及漢語基督教文化研究所提供支援服務。

sino-christian

漢語基督教文化研究所

通過深化漢語神學,推進宗教對話,豐富中國學術,以推動基督教中國化及促進基督教與中國宗教的對話。

image-placeholder (4)

信義宗神學院

具有歷史悠久的背景和深厚的神學傳統。 本院前身為譽滿東南亞的信義神學院。該院於1913年創建於中國湖北灄口(漢口附近),屬中華信義會。1948年年底, 該院因中國內地時局動盪而遷來香港,成為基督教香港信義會之神學教育機構。

馬奧勒牧師 (Rev. Ole Skjerbæk Madsen)

馬奧勒牧師是基督滿全 (Christfulness) 的創始人​​,該事工邀請人們在基督裡有更深的生活。 馬奧勒牧師目前有一半時間在香港道風山基督教叢林以基督滿全事奉,另一半時間則在丹麥。 在道風山基督教叢林之前,馬奧勒牧師從哥本哈根大學取得神學碩士學位並擔任教區牧師,隨後他在 Areopagos 擔任牧師。

TFSCC-acting-director-well-of-water-philze-lau

劉文亮牧師/博士

劉牧師於香港樹仁學院中文系畢業,熱愛中國文化,後蒙召推動靈修事工,得到幾位資深牧者協助下創立生命福音事工協會,致力推動信徒靈修親近神;於2000年進入道風山基督教叢林跟譚沛泉博士學習靈修指導,並先後在信義宗神學院取得道學碩士及教牧學博士。

TFSCC-reverend-chan-shing-tung-spirituality

陳誠東牧師/博士

陳牧師早年於加拿大麥基爾大學獲得理學學士學位,其後在中國神學研究院獲得道學碩士,之後在道風山基督教叢林完成基督教靈修指導高級文憑課程,並獲得美國神學研究協會頒發的教牧學博士學位,主修靈修指導。現任道風山基督教叢林靈修部主任。

Rev. Leung Kam Wah Robinson

梁錦華牧師/博士

梁牧師早年於羅富國教育學院及英國伯明翰大學進修,並取得教育文憑及教育哲學學士學位。梁牧師於中小學任教多年後蒙召,並先後於中國神學研究院、哈該領袖訓練學院、道風山基督教叢林及信義宗神學院進修,取得道學碩士學位(主修輔導)、靈修指導高級文憑及教牧學博士學位(主修靈修指導)。梁牧師先後於中華宣道會大圍堂、金巴崙長老會沙田堂及基督教恩霖堂牧會多年,並於2020年7月榮休。現任道風山基督教叢林靈修部靈修導師。

section-bg-3

葉萬壽先生

道風山基督教叢林客席靈修導師,心自寬輔導及培訓中心創辦人,香港專業輔導協會院士及臨床督導,MBTI Step I & II, Enneagram & NLP培訓師,感動療法AEDP I, II, III培訓

section-bg-3

陳國權牧師

道在人間靈修輔導文化中心主任、信義宗神學院榮休教授。

section-bg-3

伍維烈修士

伍維烈修士Brother William為天主教方濟會修士,持加拿大滑鐵盧大學環境學(城鄉規劃)學士、蘇格蘭愛丁堡大學景觀建築碩士、台灣輔仁大學道學碩士、香港中文大學教育文憑、美國耶魯大學神學院宗教碩士(宗教與藝術)、瑞士歐洲研究院表達藝術治療高級文憑等資歷。

section-bg-3

隆貝爾牧師/博士

隆貝爾牧師是美國新澤西州聖公會資深牧師、私人執業靈修導師及心理分析師。專研心靈創傷、心理治療和靈修的整合。

section-bg-3

李純娟修女

李純娟修女是台南聖功修女會靈修導師,鑽研中國化靈修多年。

section-bg-3

顧絲莉博士

顧絲莉博士是南非大學榮譽教授、 奧古斯丁學院客席教授。專研包括東西方神秘主義和加爾默羅靈修等等。

section-bg-3

陳寬薇修女

陳寬薇修女是臺灣聖功修女會的修女,鑽研中國化靈修多年。

section-bg-3

伊芙蓮.韋特博士 及 占士.韋特博士

伊芙蓮博士及占士博士是牧靈工作顧問。著作有 Shadows of the Heart, Holy Eros 等。

署理主任的信

容涵有道道如風——細閱我們的目標,如何在成立90年後始終如一,也讓到訪人士與神相遇道風山。

聯絡我們

電話: (852) 2694-4038
傳真: (852) 2694-4040
電郵: contact@tfscc.org
地址:香港新界沙田道風山路三十三號

 

交通

​乘搭交通工具到沙田港鐵站,沿沙田鄉事委員會後面之小路步行上山(路程約30分鐘)或乘搭港鐵到大圍站,轉乘的士到道風山基督教叢林。

    選擇關於事項