Tao Fong Shan Art Ministry

When people hear the name Tao Fong Shan, many may think of the tranquil ambience, big cross, and traditional Chinese architecture, yet very few people know that it is one of the very few places in Hong Kong that produces Canton porcerlains to this day. Some of which have even gotten worldwide recognition. These exquisite hand-painted porcelains funded by the Centre played an essential role in Hong Kong’s Cantonese porcelain industry.

In the past, we hosted many young Buddhist monks. When some of them converted to Christianity, the staff found a way to help them learn porcelain painting to earn a livelihood. In 1947, the Centre founded the Art Ministry and invited Mr. Tse Zhong Ng to teach Cantonese porcelain painting and preside over firing the artworks. Since then, Tao Fong Shan has carried on the tradition.

Lam Duen Shan Ming

Today, Canton porcerlain remains one of the main initiatives of Tao Fong Shan Christian Centre. Invited to be our artist-in-residence by the former director, Dr. Tong Wing Sze, Lam Duen Shan Ming is a Canton porcelain artisan of 8 years. He was inspired by the location of the Centre, where he can make art while exploring himself and the history of Tao Fong Shan from the realm of Tao Fong near the city, being “in the world” and “out of the world”. As the artist-in-residence, Lam Duen Shan Ming plans to study the Centre’s pioneering mission, symbolic fusion of the East and West, and more importantly encapsulate the essence in his artworks.

Our mission

Art workshop

Creating art can project individual spirit. People can express their emotions and thoughts by playing with different materials and pigments. In our art jaming sessions, participants will learn to paint porcerlain or make wooden coffee spoon, where you will not only enjoy and share the experience and process of art, but also learn, understand, and accept oneself, a beautiful creation of God.

Art exhibition

We are committed to working with local artists. We want them to express their reflection and experience of faith through their creations, using art as a medium of meditation, to dialogue and resonate with their audience.

The Art Shop

The Art Shop produces Christian art and spiritual products that integrates with Chinese folk art such as porcelains, paintings, paper art, wood art, stone art, and fabric art. These handicrafts reimagine the stories in the Bible and communicate Christian values, helping believers renew and reflect on their faith.

Christian art publishing

In order to foster awareness and interest in Christian art and help people understand the values of Christian faith through visual art, we edit, produce, and publish Christian art books and photobooks. We encourage our readers to enjoy the wonderful gift of aesthetics that God the Creator of Heaven and Earth has given us.

Upcoming events

Christian artworks

Clouds and Billows Sickness

When the clouds and waves strike hard, it may be difficult to adjust, perhaps all we need is a cup of tea to calm ourselves before we begin to plan our future.

Jesus Walks on the Water

Shortly before dawn Jesus went out to them, walking on the lake. When the disciples saw him walking on the lake, they were terrified…But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.” “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.” “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!” Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

Matthew 14:25-31

Last Supper

While they were eating, Jesus took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and gave it to his disciples, saying, “Take and eat; this is my body.” Then he took a cup, and when he had given thanks, he gave it to them, saying, “Drink from it, all of you. This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins.

Matthew 26:26-28

Gethsemane

Then Jesus went with his disciples to a place called Gethsemane, and he said to them, “Sit here while I go over there and pray.” He took Peter and the two sons of Zebedee along with him, and he began to be sorrowful and troubled. Then he said to them, “My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with me.”

Going a little farther, he fell with his face to the ground and prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.”

Matthew 26:36, 38, 49

The Art Shop

Opening hours:

Monday to Saturday: 9AM to 12:30PM; 1:30PM to 5PM

Location:

Diagonally opposite to Christ Temple

Phone:

2694 4007

Closed on Sunday and public holidays

Latest news

Self-delusion

Christs Temple Congregation – English Worship Service on Tao Fong Shan

Spirituality at Tao Fong Shan, December 2020 Issue

Meditation on LIFE—bereavement

A letter from Philze Lau, Acting Director

A personal experience at Tao Fong Shan

Since the conception of Tao Fong Shan, we have been helping our sisters and brothers find peace in the calmness and comfort of the nature and build a closer relationship with our Heavenly Father. If you are interested in joining us, please fill out our contact form and your needs, we will be in touch shortly.

道風山藝術事工

每當提到道風山,很多人都會想到山上的清靜的自然理境,高聳的大十字架,古式古香的中式建築,但很少人知道這裡是香港少數仍有出產廣彩瓷的地方。當中的繪瓷部作品,更是聞名於中外。這些由教會支持的精緻的瓷器撐起了香港廣彩業的半邊天。

過去道風山基督教叢林接待了不少年輕佛教僧人,有部份僧人改信了基督教。叢林同工為了這些僧人日後生計著想,於是想到讓他們學習繪瓷作為一技之長。1947年,叢林正式成立繪瓷部,並邀請畫師謝中吾先生教導學員繪製廣彩瓷,並主持的燒瓷工作。道風山由此開始廣彩瓷的生產,至今有七十多年歷史。

林斷山明

時至今日,道風山基督教叢林依然大力支持廣彩發展工作。林斷山明從事廣彩瓷研究和創作已八年,很榮幸得到前主任湯泳詩博士的賞識,成為道風山駐場藝術家。在道風山創作,頗有「大隱隱於市」之意境,既處於道風境界,市區亦近在咫尺。在入世與出世之間,探索道風山的前世與今生,也尋索自己。在山的駐場計劃中,我安排了許多的工作,包括探索道風山之過去和未來從而了解其使命、歸納道風山中式與西式元素來進行折衷研究、在出世與入世之間繪畫瓷畫修練。

我們的任務

藝術活動

藝術創作可投射個人心靈,運用不同的材料和顏料,可讓人抒發個情感和思緒。透過Art Jaming、 手繪花瓶、咖啡木匙等藝術工作坊,讓參加者享受和分享藝術創作的過程和體驗,亦透過手作去認識、理解和接納由造物主所創造的自己。

藝術展覽

致力於與本地藝術家合作,讓藝術家透過作品表達信仰的反思和體會,以藝術品作為觸動心靈的默想工具,與參觀者對話,產生共鳴。

藝術軒

創作及出售瓷器、繪畫、紙藝、木藝、石藝、布藝等富有中國色彩的基督宗教藝術及靈修用品,重新演繹聖經內容及基督教價值,幫助信徒透過藝術品感悟信仰並得以更新,協助教會將視覺藝術融入場地佈置及室內設計,締造別出心裁的聚會環境。

基督教藝術出版

編輯、製作及出版基督教藝術書籍及畫冊,讓人透過視覺藝術去認識及明白基督教信仰的價值,並促進基督教視覺藝術教育,以敏銳並享受創造主賦予人類對美的觸覺。

找尋你的活動

基督教藝術作品

雲浪丸

雲水之間變得太快,或許我們一時適應不到,不妨品一杯茶、定一定驚,然後再計劃未來。

耶穌履海

⋯⋯耶穌在海面上走,往門徒那裏去。但門徒看見他在海面上走,就驚慌了⋯⋯耶穌連忙對他們說:「放心!是我,不要怕!」彼得回答他說:「主啊,如果是你,請叫我從水面上走到你那裏去。」耶穌說:「你來吧!」彼得就從船上下去,在水面上走,往耶穌那裏去;只因見風很強,害怕起來,將要沉下去,就喊著說:「主啊,救我!」耶穌立刻伸手拉住他,說:「你這小信的人哪,為甚麼疑惑呢?」

馬太福音 14:25-31

最後晚餐

他們吃的時候,耶穌拿起餅來,祝福了,就擘開,遞給門徒,說:「你們拿去,吃吧。這是我的身體。」他又拿起杯來,祝謝了,遞給他們,說:「你們都喝這個,因為這是我立約的血,為許多人流出來,使罪得赦⋯⋯」

馬太福音 26:26-28

客西馬尼園中

耶穌和門徒來到一個地方,名叫客西馬尼⋯⋯就對他們說:「我心裏非常憂傷,幾乎要死;你們留在這裏,和我一同警醒。」他就稍往前走,俯伏在地,禱告說:「我父啊,如果可能,求你使這杯離開我。然而,不是照我所願的,而是照你所願的。」

馬太福音 26:36, 38, 39

藝術軒

營業時間:

星期一至星期六:上午9時-12時30分;下午1時30-5時

星期日及公眾假期休息

位置:

聖殿斜對面

電話:

2694 4007

最新消息

因信得生

人禽之辨

《道風 · 靈修》進深經歷神?  

學像小孩

勸學

不要像無知的人

潛龍勿用

靜待我心靈歸家

預約團體 / 個人服務

自從道風山創立以來,我們協力在寧靜舒適的山上幫助各弟兄姊妹找尋平安,並與我們的天父建立更緊密的關係。如果您對我們的藝術事工感興趣,請填寫聯繫表格和需求,我們會盡快與您聯繫。